Roanoke County Public Schools students Roanoke County Public Schools students Roanoke County Public Schools students
Roanoke County Public Schools
Blackboard  |   Calendar  |   Contact Us  |  Web Email  |   Site Map    
Click here to search our website
Quick Reference

Quick Reference



Accessibility / Disclaimer
Contact Webmaster

 © 2015 RCPS

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
  Get Acrobat Reader!
2010 Hermes Gold Award Winner

Three schools named Highly Distinguished Title I Schools

The Virginia Board of Education has named Clearbrook, Green Valley and Oak Grove elementary schools as “Highly Distinguished Title I Schools” for raising the academic achievement of economically disadvantaged students. The awards are based on student achievement on state assessments during the 2011-2012 and 2010-2011 school years.

Title I Highly Distinguished schools must exceed all state and federal accountability benchmarks and achieve average scores on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests in English and mathematics at or above the 85th percentile.  Only nine schools statewide earned this highest honor, three of which are in Roanoke County. 

In addition, the Board of Education named 37 Distinguished Title I schools statewide including Glen Cove and Masons Cove elementary schools.

“The progress we make in narrowing and ultimately closing achievement gaps depends in large measure on the efforts of teachers, principals and other educators in the commonwealth’s Title I schools,” Board of Education President David M. Foster said. “The educators in the schools we are honoring today are leading the way. I congratulate them for their success in helping students overcome barriers and achieve at higher levels.”
“The success of the teachers and students in these schools is particularly noteworthy given the challenging new mathematics SOL tests that were introduced during the 2011-2012 school year,” Superintendent of Public Instruction Patricia I. Wright said.
Each school and division will receive a certificate celebrating its status and achievement.
Title I of ESEA provides funding to school divisions and schools for programs to raise the achievement of students identified as being at risk of academic failure. The federal education law, whose most recent reauthorization is also known as the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, requires schools and school divisions to meet annual objectives for increasing student achievement on statewide assessments in reading/language arts and mathematics.

(Last updated 1/21/13)